Posted by: knowself | January 12, 2009

VIVES goes Open Source!

Vortex Induced Vibration Energy Systems (VIVES) is a concept for a business that I am proposing as an Open Source Business (OSB) as opposed to the more familiar concept of Open Source Software (OSS).

It’s clear to me now that I will need the support of many professional services and experts in various fields business, engineering, legal and political that would be daunting for anyone to pull together, let alone someone that has my experience or lack thereof in launching a business of this magnitude.

So, for once in my life, I’m going to start a project by asking for help. I’m going to focus on my strengths, vision and leadership, and let the idea grow on it’s on merits.

At some point, we might take VIVES private and proprietary, but it’s clear to me, at this point, in my life and the life of this concept that open source, open business ( OSOB ) is the best strategy available to me.

So, as of the time of this writing, I’m establishing a project at SourceForge.net for the technical, legal and other digital documents that comprise the project VIVES.

This blog will be for public comment and publicity and I look forward to your input.

Thanks!

Joe Terry, Founder
VIVES
January MMIX

Leave a Reply

Categories

